Book Review, Middle Grade Fiction, Uncategorized

The Girl, the Ghost and the Lost Name by Reece Carter

The Girl, the Ghost and the Lost Name is something totally different. I was intrigued by the amazing proof box that arrived last week and it jumped up my reading pile. I wasn't disappointed. This story is a very special combination of creative characterisation, magical evil, a captivating mystery and ever-evolving relationships. Told from the… Continue reading The Girl, the Ghost and the Lost Name by Reece Carter

Blog Tour, Book Review, Middle Grade Fiction

Mia and the Lightcasters by Janelle McCurdy ~ Blog Tour

Sometimes you come across a story that jumps off the page so visually that it seems like you're watching a film instead of reading words on a page. Mia and the Lightcasters is one of those books. Packed full of action, mystery and personal struggle from the very first page, readers will be swept up… Continue reading Mia and the Lightcasters by Janelle McCurdy ~ Blog Tour

Book Review, Middle Grade Fiction

The Clockwork Queen by Peter Bunzl

I love how Barrington Stoke historical fiction whisks readers away on wonderful journeys into the past. Without a wasted word, we find ourselves right at the centre of a new time and place. Peter Bunzl's The Clockwork Queen is another of these masterpieces. Eighteenth century Russia, Catherine the Great, high-stakes chess and Trojan horse style… Continue reading The Clockwork Queen by Peter Bunzl

Book Review, Middle Grade Fiction, Young Adult

Stitched Up by Steve Cole

Fast fashion is cheap, but somebody has to pay. Stitched Up by Steve Cole is one of those books that stays with you long after you've finished reading it. An eye-opening glimpse at the reality of fast-fashion, sweat shops and human slavery in the modern world, it will cause readers to think twice about where… Continue reading Stitched Up by Steve Cole

Book Review, Middle Grade Fiction

The Wind Child by Gabriela Houston

The Wind Child by Gabriela Houston is a wonderful journey through traditional Slavic folklore. Perfect for fans of Sophie Anderson and The Girl Who Speaks Bear, this story weaves the reality of human grief and desire with magical powers not always understood or controlled. Mara is the granddaughter of the God of the Winter Winds.… Continue reading The Wind Child by Gabriela Houston

Book Review, Middle Grade Fiction

Festergrimm by Thomas Taylor

The delightful duo of Herbie Lemon and Violet Parma are back in this thrilling Frankenstein - King Kong - Madame Tussauds gone wrong mash-up. My family adores this series but Festergrimm just might be our favourite (keeping a special place in our hearts for the original, Malamander.) This story is laugh-out loud funny (I'm planning… Continue reading Festergrimm by Thomas Taylor

Blog Tour, Middle Grade Fiction

Orla and the Wild Hunt by Anna Hoghton ~ Blog Tour

I have been eagerly awaiting Orla and the Wild Hunt by Anna Hoghton and it is more than I could have ever hoped for! Dark folklore combines with the unbreakable spirit of children to create a story packed full of peril, sacrifice, loyalty, friendship and love. Orla doesn't sing anymore. The death of her mum… Continue reading Orla and the Wild Hunt by Anna Hoghton ~ Blog Tour