Book Review, Middle Grade Fiction, Uncategorized

The Girl, the Ghost and the Lost Name by Reece Carter

The Girl, the Ghost and the Lost Name is something totally different. I was intrigued by the amazing proof box that arrived last week and it jumped up my reading pile. I wasn't disappointed. This story is a very special combination of creative characterisation, magical evil, a captivating mystery and ever-evolving relationships. Told from the… Continue reading The Girl, the Ghost and the Lost Name by Reece Carter

Blog Tour, Book Review, Middle Grade Fiction

Mia and the Lightcasters by Janelle McCurdy ~ Blog Tour

Sometimes you come across a story that jumps off the page so visually that it seems like you're watching a film instead of reading words on a page. Mia and the Lightcasters is one of those books. Packed full of action, mystery and personal struggle from the very first page, readers will be swept up… Continue reading Mia and the Lightcasters by Janelle McCurdy ~ Blog Tour

Book Review, Chapter Book (7-9)

Super Seal Stories by Holly Webb & Helen Peters

We're about to go on holiday to the Isle of Skye & the Outer Hebrides. While we're there, we're really hoping to do some seal spotting. These two books are just the thing to help us learn about these amazing animals and help to keep them safe. Holly Webb is one of my daughter's favourite… Continue reading Super Seal Stories by Holly Webb & Helen Peters

Book Review, Middle Grade Fiction

The Clockwork Queen by Peter Bunzl

I love how Barrington Stoke historical fiction whisks readers away on wonderful journeys into the past. Without a wasted word, we find ourselves right at the centre of a new time and place. Peter Bunzl's The Clockwork Queen is another of these masterpieces. Eighteenth century Russia, Catherine the Great, high-stakes chess and Trojan horse style… Continue reading The Clockwork Queen by Peter Bunzl

Blog Tour, Book Review, Guest Post, Picture Books

Where Has All The Cake Gone? by Andrew Sanders & Aysha Awwad ~ Blog Tour & Guest Post

Fact or Fib "A group of penguins is called a waddle" What do you think? Scroll down to the end of this post to find out the answer. Where has All the Cake Gone? by Andrew Sanders & Aysha Awwad is a brilliantly fun new picture book from Macmillan Children's Books. Delicious cake, mischievous penguins,… Continue reading Where Has All The Cake Gone? by Andrew Sanders & Aysha Awwad ~ Blog Tour & Guest Post

Book Review, Middle Grade Fiction, Young Adult

Stitched Up by Steve Cole

Fast fashion is cheap, but somebody has to pay. Stitched Up by Steve Cole is one of those books that stays with you long after you've finished reading it. An eye-opening glimpse at the reality of fast-fashion, sweat shops and human slavery in the modern world, it will cause readers to think twice about where… Continue reading Stitched Up by Steve Cole

Book Review, Middle Grade Fiction

The Wind Child by Gabriela Houston

The Wind Child by Gabriela Houston is a wonderful journey through traditional Slavic folklore. Perfect for fans of Sophie Anderson and The Girl Who Speaks Bear, this story weaves the reality of human grief and desire with magical powers not always understood or controlled. Mara is the granddaughter of the God of the Winter Winds.… Continue reading The Wind Child by Gabriela Houston

Blog Tour, Book Review, Picture Books

Princesses Break Free by Timothy Knapman & Jenny Lovlie ~ Blog Tour & Guest Post

It's The Paper Bag Princess for the next generation. Join Princess Tilly as she stands up for herself and encourages girls to be just as strong as boys - if not stronger. Challenging gender stereotypes and helping all children to see themselves in stories, Princesses Break Free is a brilliant new picture book by Timothy… Continue reading Princesses Break Free by Timothy Knapman & Jenny Lovlie ~ Blog Tour & Guest Post