Book Review, Middle Grade Fiction, Uncategorized

The Girl, the Ghost and the Lost Name by Reece Carter

The Girl, the Ghost and the Lost Name is something totally different. I was intrigued by the amazing proof box that arrived last week and it jumped up my reading pile. I wasn't disappointed. This story is a very special combination of creative characterisation, magical evil, a captivating mystery and ever-evolving relationships. Told from the… Continue reading The Girl, the Ghost and the Lost Name by Reece Carter

Book Review, Middle Grade Fiction

The Wind Child by Gabriela Houston

The Wind Child by Gabriela Houston is a wonderful journey through traditional Slavic folklore. Perfect for fans of Sophie Anderson and The Girl Who Speaks Bear, this story weaves the reality of human grief and desire with magical powers not always understood or controlled. Mara is the granddaughter of the God of the Winter Winds.… Continue reading The Wind Child by Gabriela Houston

Blog Tour, Book Review, Middle Grade Fiction

My Friend the Octopus by Lindsay Galvin ~ Blog Tour

"I wished I had three hearts like an octopus. Then maybe it wouldn't hurt so much if one got broken." Following on from the hugely successful Darwin's Dragons, Lindsay Galvin has done it again - a gripping Victorian mystery filled with natural history, art and the essential connection between animals and humans. My Friend the… Continue reading My Friend the Octopus by Lindsay Galvin ~ Blog Tour

Book Review, Middle Grade Fiction

The Unexpected Tale of the Bad Brothers by Clare Povey

Reading The Unexpected Tale of the Bad Brothers is like being back with old friends. Bastien, Theo, Alice and all the orphans care about each other so dearly. That kindness flows off the page and pulls the reader right into their gang. The addition of the fiery dancer Mathilde adds a new sense of feistiness… Continue reading The Unexpected Tale of the Bad Brothers by Clare Povey

Book Review, Middle Grade Fiction

The Lost Girl King ~ Catherine Doyle

Catherine Doyle is back with another heart-pounding fantasy middle grade adventure. If you loved The Storm Keeper Trilogy, then don't miss this magical tale. Sister and brother, Amy and Liam, are visiting their grandmother in Connemara on the west coast of Ireland. Far from home, friends and their usual entertainment, they only have each other… Continue reading The Lost Girl King ~ Catherine Doyle

Book Review, Middle Grade Fiction

The Magic of Nature in Middle Grade

The natural world has a magic all its own. Even though we know so much about how plants grow, reproduce and fill our world, it is still inexplicably wondrous to be surrounded by something so alive - the damp shadows of the forest, the new shoots of a seed, the medicinal powers not created by… Continue reading The Magic of Nature in Middle Grade

Book Review, Middle Grade Fiction

Invaluable Books from Barrington Stoke

Barrington Stoke can always be relied on to create entertaining, meaningful, empathy-filled stories that are accessible and empowering for readers. With dyslexia-friendly font, spacing and page tint, everyone can enjoy these wonderful books. The manageable length and carefully chosen vocabulary encourages success and brings children back for more. All About Ella by Sally Nicholls &… Continue reading Invaluable Books from Barrington Stoke

Article, Book Review, Middle Grade Fiction, Reading

Our Brightstorm Journey

There is no doubt the Brightstorm trilogy by Vashti Hardy is incredibly important to our family. Following the adventures of boy/girl twins, Arthur & Maudie, they have given our own twins, Tom & Lucy, the opportunity to follow a positive, loving twin relationship that is so like their own. We first met Vashti Hardy when… Continue reading Our Brightstorm Journey

Blog Tour, Book Review, Middle Grade Fiction

Every Cloud by Ros Roberts ~ Review by Lucy, age 12 ~ Blog Tour

https://www.instagram.com/reel/CcM_yQbOaz_/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link Every Cloud is fantastic book about a girl called Amy who is in Year 6 and is waiting to find out what high school she’s going to. She’s really hoping to go to Valley High with the rest of her friends but since she’s moved house, it’s looking like that might not happen. She… Continue reading Every Cloud by Ros Roberts ~ Review by Lucy, age 12 ~ Blog Tour

Book Review, Middle Grade Fiction

Max Counts to a Million by Jeremy Williams

Max Counts to a Million is the first proper COVID-19 story I've read. It follows Max, an ordinary boy, who is experiencing all the unknowns and anxieties of lockdown and the huge impact it is having on his family. This is a story that will resonate with children. They will see themselves in Max as… Continue reading Max Counts to a Million by Jeremy Williams