Book Review, Non-fiction Books

God Cares series by Debbie Duncan

We were so happy to receive three new books from the brilliant God Cares series by Debbie Duncan. Through these appealing and engaging books, children of a range of ages and reading abilities are able to think and pray through tough questions.

When I Don’t Give Up: Jesus and Zacchaeus is an illustrated reader aimed at children age 5-7. With bright illustrations, large font and accessible text, it allows children to read independently or with an adult. Focusing on the emotions of key characters, this book encourages children to keep trying and not give up, even when things are hard.

When Life is Unfair: Joseph and Other Stories helps children to understand that even when bad things happen, God is still with them and they can trust Him no matter what. Aimed at readers age 8+, each chapter looks at one part of Joseph’s life, pulling out quotes from the Bible and questions prompting readers to think about their own lives. Space to write reflections encourages deeper thinking and provides real opportunities to apply what they have read.

When Life is Tough: Paul and Other Stories helps children to understand that life can be tough for everyone at times – some more than others – but they can always turn to God for help and guidance. Talking points and prayers at the end of each chapter help children to personalise what they’ve read and make links to their own experiences.

Emotions and mental health are at the heart of everything Debbie Duncan writes. Children are able to explore the tough things in life from a Christian perspective and see that they are not alone in how they are feeling. Guidance for parents at the end of each book makes dealing with these tricky emotions and experiences that little bit easier.

Other books in the God Cares series:

When I am Afraid: Jesus Calms the Storm (age 5-7)

When I am Strong: Friends in the Fire (age 5-7)

When I am Anxious: Moses and Other Stories (age 8+)

When I Feel Down: Jonah and Other Stories (age 8+)

Click on the covers below to find out more or purchase on-line from Amazon.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s