Book Review, Middle Grade Fiction

The Wind Child by Gabriela Houston

The Wind Child by Gabriela Houston is a wonderful journey through traditional Slavic folklore. Perfect for fans of Sophie Anderson and The Girl Who Speaks Bear, this story weaves the reality of human grief and desire with magical powers not always understood or controlled.

Mara is the granddaughter of the God of the Winter Winds. With a human father and a cold, distant magical mother, she is stuck between two worlds. When her father dies, she sets off on a journey that defies the gods. Determined to bring him back from the dead, Mara and Torniv, a bear-shifter, risk everything to go somewhere no human has ever gone before.

Themes of family, friendship, loss and self-discovery challenge readers as they follow Mara on her quest. There’s no telling how much she’s willing to risk for her father.

Thank you to Uclan Publishing for this gripping book!

Click on the covers below to find out more or purchase on-line from bookshop.org Amazon.

Books by Kate Heap:

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is q
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is q
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is q
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is q
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is q
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is q
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is img_4838.jpg

Available to pre-order:

Nonfiction: Years 3/4

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s