English Teaching, Reading

Developing Reading Comprehension Skills by Kate Heap


Developing Reading Comprehension Skills is a series of eight reading comprehension books for children, focusing on high-quality literature and the full range of question types assessed in the KS2 SATs and 11+ Reading Comprehension papers. The series gives children opportunities to tackle more complex vocabulary, explore how authors use language to impact their readers and develop endurance for longer passages.  To support the adults using the books, each begins with guidance and strategies for teaching the eight different question types, plus suggestions for embedding these texts in the wider English curriculum.

The first two books in the series are available now with the remaining six still to come.

Classic Children’s Literature: Years 5-6 is the first book in the Developing Reading Comprehension Skills series. It contains twelve extracts from classic children’s stories. Each extract is accompanied by eight sets of questions based on the Key Stage Two Reading Content Domains. The world of classic children’s literature is full of rich language and exciting adventures. Through these timeless stories, children are able to journey to worlds and times different from their own and lose themselves in the lives of unforgettable characters. Once children get a taste of these wonderful stories, they often want to read more and go on to experience books they may not otherwise discover.

Classic Poetry: Years 5-6 is the second book in the Developing Reading Comprehension Skills series. It contains twelve classic poems. Each poem is accompanied by eight sets of questions based on the Key Stage Two Reading Content Domains. Classic poems give the reader a window into the past, to another time or another place, while building empathy and understanding. The world of poetry is a place to escape. With the power to transform and change the way readers see the world, poetry can provide peace, inspiration and hope.

The Developing Reading Comprehension Skills series is suitable for new and recently qualified teachers and those who are more experienced looking to expand the range of texts they use. These books are useful in the classroom, for home learning and long-term home education. Although aimed at Key Stage Two, they would also be appropriate in Key Stage Three for supporting children who have not yet reached the expected Year 6 standard.

The first two books in the series, Classic Literature: Years 5-6 and Classic Poetry: Years 5-6are now available from Brilliant PublicationsAmazon, and Waterstones (print and e-book versions). Future books in the series will be: Classic Literature: Years 3-4Classic Poetry: Years 3-4Contemporary Fiction: Years 5-6Contemporary Fiction: Years 3-4 Non-fiction: Years 5-6 and  Non-fiction: Years 3-4

Content Domain Question Types
• Vocabulary
• Retrieval
• Inference
• Summary
• Prediction
• Text Meaning
• Author’s Use of Language
• Compare & Contrast  
Classic Children’s Literature Extracts
• Little House in the Big Woods by Laura Ingalls Wilder
• The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
by C S Lewis
• Swallows and Amazons
by Arthur Ransome
• The Call of the Wild
by Jack London
• The Hobbit
by J R R Tolkien
• Anne of Green Gables
by Lucy Maud Montgomery
• Black Beauty
by Anna Sewell
• The Secret Garden
by Frances Hodgson Burnett
• The Jungle Book
by Rudyard Kipling
• Treasure Island
by Robert Louis Stevenson
• Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea
by Jules Verne
• A Christmas Carol
by Charles Dickens
Classic Poetry Extracts
• Night Clouds by Amy Lowell
• An Autumn Evening
by Lucy Maud Montgomery
• In Flanders Fields
by John McCrae
• Leisure by 
W.H. Davies
• In the Bleak Midwinter
by Christina Rossetti
• The Way Through the Woods
by Rudyard Kipling
• “Hope” is the Thing with Feathers
by Emily Dickinson
• The Highwayman
by Alfred Noyes
• The Listeners
by Walter de la Mare
• North of Time
by Rachel Field
• The Tyger
by William Blake
• A Musical Instrument
by Elizabeth Barrett Browning  

Reviews of Developing Reading Comprehension Skills:

Both Classic Children’s Literature: Years 5-6 & Classic Poetry: Years 5-6 are available to order in both e-book and print book format from Brilliant Publications.

Order from Amazon:

In Canada, you may purchase from Amazon.ca or the e-book from Brilliant Publications (above)

In the U.S., you may purchase from Amazon.com or the e-book from Brilliant Publications (above)

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 9780857478375-classic-childrens-literature-upper-ks2.jpg

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s